I am disputing the installation of the WAVE device by the Kansas City Water Department

The following is the communication line (please read from the bottom message up) as I have been attempting to protect my 4th amendment right to privacy.
If you have the WAVE installed in you house now, you probably should investigate exactly what information about your habits is being broadcast and how often.
______________________________________________________________
Lisa,
This is Dr. Drumright.  I am Mr. Ford’s chiropractor.  Please make sure he gets a copy of this message.
Thanks
Ed,
I need you to help me protect my privacy.
You see after experiencing ID theft, I have become extremely wary of the accumulation of private information in data bases that I don’t personally have control over.
The following (please read from the bottom up) is a series of emails between myself and Robert Thiemann at the Water Department.
There is no reason for the collection and storage of water use data more often than needed to calculate a bill.
The bills go out every two months, so they need to have a reading once every two months.
Any greater frequency of readings serves them no purpose while increasing the risk of this information being stolen and used for bad intent.
I look forward to your timely response to this problem.
They have told Christina they would turn off the water to my family if we don’t waive our right to privacy and quickly comply.
Sincerely,
Dr. Darrel Drumright
______________________________________________________________________
—–Original Message—–
From: Robert Thiemann [mailto:Robert_Thiemann@kcmo.org]
Sent: Wednesday, September 30, 2009 8:11 AM
To: Darrel Drumright
Subject: RE: Wave installation

I understand your concerns Dr Drumright. However, the automatic meter reading device cannot be turned off.

Rob Thiemann
Kansas City Water Services Department
816-513-0349
Fax – 513-0230
Cell – 225-0751
Inactive hide details for "Darrel Drumright" <drd@harmonyhealth.com>“Darrel Drumright” <drd@harmonyhealth.com>

        • “Darrel Drumright” <drd@harmonyhealth.com> 09/29/2009 04:33 PM

To

“Robert Thiemann” <Robert_Thiemann@kcmo.org>

cc

Subject

RE: Wave installation

Mr. Thiemann,

That is what the Army said before they lost my ID along with 25 million other veterans.

That is what Blue Cross Blue Sheild said before they lost my ID along with thousands of other providers.

You have to understand why I am sceptical about trusting a city government with so much sensitive information.

Such as what time of day I ussually take a shower, or if anyone has been home for the past three days.

Can I turn the thing on and off?

Dr Drumright

            • —–Original Message—–
              From:
              Robert Thiemann [mailto:Robert_Thiemann@kcmo.org]
              Sent:
              Monday, September 28, 2009 3:21 PM
              To:
              Darrel Drumright
              Subject:
              Re: Wave installationMr Drumright –

              I’m checked and I’m sorry but we are not going to be able to make an exception on the installation of your WAVE automatic meter reading system.

              Sincerely,

              Rob Thiemann
              Kansas City Water Services Department
              816-513-0349
              Fax – 513-0230
              Cell – 225-0751

              Inactive hide details for "Darrel Drumright" <drd@harmonyhealth.com>“Darrel Drumright” <drd@harmonyhealth.com>

                                            • “Darrel Drumright” <drd@harmonyhealth.com> 09/24/2009 09:34 AM

              To

              <robert_thiemann@kcmo.org>

              cc

              Subject

              Wave installation


              Good morning Robert,

              This is Dr Drumright.

              We discussed installing a special WAVE unit in my home at 5820 N Bedford Ave, KCMO 64151 that only broadcasts once per month.

              Thank you very much for listening to my concerns about information concentrations.

              What is the next step?

              Sincerely,

              Darrel Drumright

    • —–Original Message—–
      From:
      Robert Thiemann [mailto:Robert_Thiemann@kcmo.org]
      Sent:
      Tuesday, September 29, 2009 8:02 AM
      To:
      Darrel Drumright
      Subject:
      RE: Wave installation
      Dr Drumright –

      The city’s database is well protected and AMR technology has been proved safe in utilities around the country. The AMR meter does not control the flow of water and will not disrupt your water supply.

      Rob Thiemann
      Kansas City Water Services Department
      816-513-0349
      Fax – 513-0230
      Cell – 225-0751
      Inactive hide details for "Darrel Drumright" <drd@harmonyhealth.com>“Darrel Drumright” <drd@harmonyhealth.com>

                    • “Darrel Drumright” <drd@harmonyhealth.com>09/28/2009 06:02 PM

      To

      “Robert Thiemann” <Robert_Thiemann@kcmo.org>

      cc

      Subject

      RE: Wave installation


      Mr. Thiemann,


      Thank you for contacting me on this important issue.


      I need to know what other options there are to address my security and privacy concerns.


      Will I be able to turn the unit on and off myself to prevent the accumulation of behavior data in an unprotected database?


      Does the unit block water flow if the power goes out?


      Turning off my children’s water supply if I do not compromise my privacy rights is unacceptable.


      I look forward to working with you to create a satisfactory solution to this problem.


      Dr Drumright

Leave a Reply

